May Murray

For a long time I’ve wondered what happened to my grandfather’s half-sister May Murray. I didn’t think she was connected to another mystery in the family: who was Reethie who sent the family a box of candy for every Christmas?

My grandfather was Frederick Everett Wilson who was born 17 Jun 1887 in Montezuma, Parke Co., IN. His parents were George S. Wilson and Viola V. Hise. His father died 23 Jan 1901 of tuberculosis. On 20 Oct 1903 his mother married Samuel F. Murray. The 1910 United States census revealed that Samuel and Viola had a daughter, May Murray born 7 Aug 1904 in Parke County.

Fred had two sisters, Ida M. born August 1883 and Mary D. born February 1891. Ida married Lewis Rohr in 1901 and divorced him in 1905. I think Mary may have died while still a child. Neither name lent itself to the nickname “Reethie.”

Today while playing on Familysearch to see if I can find information about someone, I found a marriage record for the son of Cyril Myron Elwood and Wreatha May Murray. Wreatha May Murray! My limited research at home could only determine that Wreatha was born the same year as my half-great-aunt and that the family lived in Indianapolis. Despite my earlier desire to stay home and goof off, now I want to go to the library to use Ancestry to find out more about this family.

In case you’re wondering why you’re reading words instead of viewing photos, I’ve decided to continue this blog to write about the maternal side of my family. I will still share photos!

Leave a Reply

